TV News Africa

2010 MTV Africa Music Awards winners announced

LAGOS: Nigeria, this year, dominated the 2010 MTV Africa Music Awards (MAMAs) held on Saturday night, 11 December 2010 in Lagos, Nigeria. Nigeria with four prizes was followed by South Africa with three awards.
2010 MTV Africa Music Awards winners announced

The 2010 MAMA awards opened with a performance by hip hop heavyweight, Rick Ross, and closed with a rendition of "Win" featuring T-Pain, Rick Ross, Da LES and 2Face. In keeping with the tradition of the awards, the show featured an array of collaborations between artists from different parts of the continent, mixing up music genres, language and cultures.

Winners at the 2010 MAMAs

  • Best Anglophone - Daddy Owen (Kenya)
    Best Francophone - Fally Ipupa (DRC)
  • Best Lusophone - Cabo Snoop (Angola)
  • Artist of the Year- 2Face (Nigeria)
  • Best Female - Sasha (Nigeria)
  • Best Male - 2Face (Nigeria)
  • Best Video - Fally Ipupa (DRC): "Sexy Dance"
  • Best Group - P-Square (Nigeria)
  • Brand New Act - Mo'Cheddah (Nigeria)
  • Best Performance - Big Nuz (South Africa)
  • Song of the Year - Liquideep (South Africa): "Fairytale"
  • MAMA Legend - Miriam Makeba (South Africa)
  • Best International - Eminem (USA)

Speaking at the ceremony, Alex Okosi, senior VP and MD, MTV Networks Africa, said, "Tonight's MTV Africa Music Awards with Airtel was a joyful and uplifting celebration of African youth culture and music. It brought together the best talent from across Africa to showcase the incredible music that Africa has to offer to the world. It is amazing to see the collaborations between the artists as it fosters a spirit of camaraderie and creative exchange that takes their music to a new level."

In his remarks, Andre Beyers, chief marketing officer, Airtel Africa, said, "The diversity and talent of the performances this evening was a reflection of the vast and rich talent pool that Africa has to offer. We at Airtel are proud to partner with the MTV Africa Music Awards as it is a platform for the youth and young at heart in Africa, enabling them to showcase their talent to a global audience. Music is an important way to connect with Africa as we relaunch the Airtel brand on the continent. It will support Airtel's mission of giving the youth a means to express themselves and the freedom to do more."

Among the performers at the 2010 MTV Africa Music Awards with Airtel were: 2Face (Nigeria), Banky W (Nigeria), Barbara Kanam (DRC), Big Nuz (South Africa), Cabo Snoop (Angola), Daddy Owen (Kenya), Diamond (Tanzania), Eve (USA), Fally Ipupa (DRC), J. Martins (Nigeria), Jozi (South Africa), Liquideep (South Africa), Lizha James (Mozambique), Mo Cheddah (Nigeria), Paul G (Angola), P-Unit (Kenya), Public Enemy (USA), Radio & Weasel (Uganda), Rick Ross (USA), Sarkodie (Ghana), Sasha (Nigeria), T-Pain (USA), Teargas (South Africa), The Parlotones (South Africa), Wande Coal (Nigeria).

Guest presenters and celebrity guests included Ba Ponga, Dama do Bling, Lizha James, Daniel Amokachi, Oluchi, Julius Agwu, Genevieve Nnaji, Muthoni, Nneka, MTV VJs Vanessa Mdee and Sizwe Dhlomo, Tatiana, JoJo and fashion designer Lisa Folawiyo.

The MTV Africa Music Awards with Airtel premieres on MTV base (DStv Channel 322) on Saturday, 18 December at 7pm CAT, with repeats on Sunday 19 December at 8am CAT and 2pm CAT.

Let's do Biz