• Listen to podcasts
  • Download BizTakeouts Mobi App
Advertise on Bizcommunity

Subscribe to industry newsletters

Winners of AWIEF women entrepreneurship awards announced

Twenty-two women founders and entrepreneurs from 10 different African countries were selected as finalists across eight different categories in the annual Africa Women Innovation and Entrepreneurship (AWIEF) Awards.
From L-R: Creative Industry Award winner Genet Kebede from Paradise Fashion (Ethiopia); Arunma Oteh, Oxford University Academic Scholar, former vice president and treasurer, World Bank - who handed over the awards; and runner-up Abby Ikomi, House of Irawo (Nigeria).
The 2019 AWIEF Awards took place at the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC), 30 October 2019, at the conclusion of the two-day, 5th annual AWIEF Conference and Expo and showcased a diverse representation of finalist entrepreneurs from across the continent, including: Cameroon, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Mali, Nigeria, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia.

“We are happy to celebrate with our trailblazers and congratulate them for their achievements,” said Irene Ochem, AWIEF founder and chief executive officer.

Promoting excellence in entrepreneurship and innovation amongst women-owned businesses in all sectors and across all 54 African countries is the aim of AWIEF, which celebrated the five-year anniversary of its benchmarking annual Conference and Expo this year, October 29-30, 2019, in Cape Town.

The AWIEF Awards’ panel of judges was made up of high-calibre industry experts and thought leaders spread across the continent.

All the award winners:

Young Entrepreneur Award

Lola Alli, Lagos Executive Cardiovascular Clinic (Nigeria)

Ola (Orekunrin) Brown, Flying Doctors (Nigeria)
Beatrice Haule, AfriAgric Products (Tanzania)

Tech Entrepreneur Award

Caroline Corbett, SmartBlade (South Africa)

Rebecca Enonchong, AppsTech (Cameroon)
Diane Temogne, Engineering Consulting and Services (Cameroon)

Social Entrepreneur Award

Sizani Ngubane, Rural Women’s Movement (South Africa)

Laurence Esteve, Zip Zap (South Africa)
Efua Asibon, Dislabelled (Ghana)

Global Brand Award

Shantelle Booysen, Elim Spa Products (South Africa)

Agri Entrepreneur Award

Caroline Pomeyie, ProFish (Ghana)

Affiong Williams, ReelFruit (Nigeria)
Evelyn Namara, Vouch Digital (Uganda)

Empowerment Award

Charlot Magayi, Mukuru Clean Stoves (Kenya)

Mary Inzofu, Njia Empowerment Organisation (Kenya)
Nambula Kachumi, WeCreate (Zambia)

Creative Industry Award

Genet Kebede, Paradise Fashion (Ethiopia)

Kapasa Musonda, Mangishi Doll Co. (Zambia)
Abby Ikomi, House of Irawo (Nigeria)

Lifetime Achievement Award

Kristine Pearson, Lifeline Energy (South Africa)

Oumou Sangaré, Festival International du Wassulu (Mali)
Joke Silva, LUFODO Group (Nigeria)

AWIEF Awards 2019 also featured the inaugural APO Group African Women in Media Award and the TIA Women in Innovation Awards.

AWIEF Awards’ sponsors, included: The Technical Centre for Agricultural and Rural Cooperation ACP-EU (CTA); Nedbank; and OCP Group.

Get a daily news update via WhatsApp or sign up to our newsletters.


African Press Organisation
APO is the sole press release wire in Africa, and the global leader in media relations related to Africa. With headquarters in Dakar, Senegal, APO owns a media database of over 150,000 contacts and the main Africa-related news online community.
Go to: