Media News Africa

Subscribe & Follow

Advertise your job vacancies
    Search jobs

    Judging panel announced for 2011 Diageo Awards

    LONDON: The panel of judges has been announced for the eighth Diageo Africa Business Reporting Awards set to take place on 30 June 2011. The annual awards aims to encourage more prolific reporting of economic opportunities in Africa and to celebrate excellence in business journalism.
    Judging panel announced for 2011 Diageo Awards

    2011 panel:

    • Dr Shantayanan Devarajan is the chief economist of the World Bank's Africa Division and maintains 'Africa Can', a widely read blog on topical issues relating to the socio-economic development on the continent. He has lectured in business schools across the globe on stimulating the private sector in Africa.
    • Zeinab Badawi is an international news broadcaster and presenter on BBC World News Today, as well as a trustee of the BBC World Service Trust.
    • Baroness Shriti Vadera is a former government minister for the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills and the Cabinet Office. Baroness Vadera was formerly a Minister in the Department for International Development and a member of the HM Treasury's Council of Economic Advisers, as well as a special advisor to Gordon Brown. In December 2010, she was appointed to the Boards of BHP Billiton and AstraZeneca as a non-executive director.
    • Stephen King is an investments partner at The Omidyar Foundation. Prior to this position, he was director of the BBC World Service Trust and worked for more than 15 years with international development agencies in Asia, Africa and in North America.
    • Dr Alhaji Bamanga Tukur is the chairman of the NEPAD Business Group. He is also chairman of BHI Holdings Limited and executive president of the African Business Roundtable.
    • Professor Wiseman Nkuhlu is the former CEO of New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD). He is currently chairman of Pan-African Capital Holdings (Pty) Ltd, and a director of Old Mutual PLC, Kagiso Trust Investment and Virgin Atlantic South Africa.

    The judging panel will be chaired by Diageo's chief executive, Paul Walsh.

    Announcing this year's panel, Walsh said, "I am excited to be chairing the judging panel for the 2011 awards. Once again, we will be looking for entries that demonstrate excellent research and insight, clear and balanced presentation, journalistic flair and objectivity. I am delighted to be joined by an esteemed group of individuals who know the territory so well - both from a business and a media point of view.

    The sustained growth that African markets have seen reflects a region with huge potential and 2011 promises to continue in this trend. This year we are hoping to see infrastructural expansions including a dramatic increase in technological capacity as well as greater foreign direct investment, enterprise development and macroeconomic stability."

    The number of categories was increased last year to incorporate sector-specific categories to reflect the important role that various industries play in economic development.

    The panel will select the winners across all eleven categories:

    • Best ICT feature
    • Best Finance Feature
    • Best Infrastructure Feature
    • Best Agribusiness/ Environment feature
    • Best Tourism Feature
    • Best Use of New Media in a Story
    • Best Business News Story
    • Best Business Feature Story
    • Best Newcomer
    • Media of the Year
    • Journalist of the Year

    The winners will be announced at a gala ceremony on 30 June 2011 at the Landmark Hotel, London.
    For more information, go to

    Let's do Biz