Visit Covid-19 news, #LockdownLessons, links and
Advertise on Bizcommunity

Subscribe to industry newsletters

Winners of CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Awards

South Africans, Msindisi Fengu and Yandisa Monakali from The Daily Dispatch, were named overall winners of the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Awards 2013 on Saturday, 12 October 2013 at the CTICC in Cape Town.
Msindisi Fengu
Yandisa Monakali
The winning story was a two-month investigation by The Daily Dispatch which investigated the atrocious conditions that thousands of pupils in the Eastern Cape have been subjected to, whilst supposedly under the care of the education system. The twelve-part series, uncovered hygiene and safety risks in school hostels as well as lifting the lid on shocking levels of corruption. Fengu and Monakali's hard work resulted in the suspension of an education department official and government pledge for R13m budget to improve the situation.

Category winners:

  • Msindisi Fengu & Yandisa Monakali, Print General News Award, South Africa
  • Nicola de Chaud, Culture, South Africa
  • Adrian de Kock, Mohamed Amin Photographic Award, South Africa
  • Thanduxolo Jika & Media 24 Investigations Team, Digital Platform Award, South Africa
  • Gifty Andoh Appiah, Television News Bulletin Award, Ghana
  • Axcel Micael Chenney, Francophone General News Award - Electronic Media, Mauritius
  • Florence Dallu, Radio General News Award, Kenya
  • Selma Inocência, Portuguese Language Television General News Award, Mozambique
  • Lázaro Mabunda, Portuguese Language Print General News Award, Mozambique
  • Tolu Ogunlesi, The Coca-Cola Company Economics & Business, Nigeria
  • Oluwatoyosi Ogunseye, Environment Award, Nigeria
  • Brenda Okoth, MSD Health & Medical Award, Kenya
  • Nassima Oulebsir, Francophone General News Award - Print, Algeria
  • Passant Rabie, Sport Award, Egypt
  • Roseline Wangui & Wambui Kurema, Television Features Award

Highly commended

  • Lucas Ledwaba, South Africa
  • Rebekah Adwoa Awuah, Ghana
  • Domingos Bento, Angola
  • Thomas Otieno Bwire, Kenya
  • Ibrahima-Benjamin Diagne, Senegal
  • Geoff Iyatse, Nigeria
  • Judy Jeptum Kosgei & Mauritius Oduor
  • Carol Natukunda, Uganda
  • Amon Ngabo, Uganda
For more, go to



Let's do Biz