Bobby Madhav, FNB head of trade and structured trade and commodity finance
AfCFTA offers massive economic opportunities, but there is still much work to be done

The Africa Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) agreement came into effect on the 1 January 2021. A total of 54 of Africa's 55 countries have agreed, in principle, to participate in the agreement, and 41 have submitted their tariff offers. However, to date, only 34 countries have officially signed it and four have ratified it. In principle, a total of 15 countries need to ratify the agreement in order to enable its full enforcement on the continent. If successfully implemented, this will be the largest free trade area agreement in the world.

By Bobby Madhav 10 hours ago

Let's do Biz