Visit Covid-19 news, #LockdownLessons, links and


Advertise on Bizcommunity

Subscribe to industry newsletters

AWIEF Awards 2020 calls for nominations

2020 marks the fourth edition of the AWIEF Awards which serves as the platform to highlight achievements in women entrepreneurship across Africa. The AWIEF Awards were designed to honour and celebrate top female founders and entrepreneurs in their contribution to the growth of Africa's economy.
According to Irene Ochem, AWIEF founder and chief executive officer, “AWIEF Awards is a recognition of excellence in female entrepreneurship across Africa and we have seen exponential growth in both the quality and number of nominations over the three previous editions. We have an obligation, now more than ever, to recognise and showcase those women founders and entrepreneurs who are building solutions and driving change in the African economy”.

Past AWIEF Awards winners have included: Stella Okolie (Nigeria), Wendy Luhabe (South Africa), Jennifer Riria (Kenya), Soraya da Piedade (Angola); Temie Giwa-Tubosun (Nigeria); Caroline Pomeyie (Ghana).


This year a new award category, the Energy Entrepreneur Award, has been created to recognise excellence in the power, oil & gas, and renewable energy sector.

Nominations can be submitted for the following eight categories. Nominees can either be nominated by a third-party or be self-nominated.
  • Young Entrepreneur Award
  • Tech Entrepreneur Award
  • Agri Entrepreneur Award
  • Creative Entrepreneur Award
  • Energy Entrepreneur Award
  • Social Entrepreneur Award
  • Empowerment Award
  • Lifetime Achievement Award

To submit nominations, go to

Nominations close on Tuesday, 30 June 2020 at 23:59 GMT.



Let's do Biz