Responsible Tourism News Africa

Subscribe & Follow

Advertise your job vacancies
    Search jobs

    36 organisations nominated for 2019 African Responsible Tourism Awards

    The 2019 African Responsible Tourism Awards have selected 36 tourism organisations to compete in this year's awards ceremony to be held on Wednesday, 10 April 2019 at the Cape Town International Convention Centre.
    36 organisations nominated for 2019 African Responsible Tourism Awards

    Since 2015 the awards have recognised African organisations that offer a shining example of how tourism can benefit local people, the environment and destinations. The winners will be announced at a ceremony at WTM Africa in April.

    The 2019 ARTA longlist

    This year, the longlist names tourism organisations from Kenya, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

    Longlisted organisations compete in six categories that focus on community benefits, conservation, resource management, attractions, events and cultural and heritage experiences.

    The 2019 longlist for the African Responsible Tourism Awards is as follows:

    • !Khwa ttu San Culture and Education Centre (South Africa)
    • 18 Gangster Museum (South Africa)
    • Action for Fundamental Change & Development (Uganda)
    • All Out Africa (Swaziland)
    • Anvil Bay (Mozambique)
    • BARSA Aviation Summit 2018 (South Africa)
    • Basecamp Explorer (Kenya)
    • Cape Town Marathon (South Africa)
    • Davinci Hotel and Suites (South Africa)
    • Dorobo Tours and Safaris (Tanzania)
    • Events Green Forum 2018 Conference & Master Class (South Africa)
    • GCIP-SA Annual Awards 2017 (South Africa)
    • Great Plains Conservation Sapi Reserve (Zimbabwe)
    • Grootbos Private Nature Reserve (South Africa)
    • Ultimate Safaris’ //HUAB Under Canvas (Namibia) 1
    • Kwalata Game Lodge (South Africa)
    • LEO Africa (South Africa)
    • Mdumbi Green Fair Festival (South Africa)
    • Meetings Africa (South Africa)
    • MTN Bushfire (Swaziland)
    • Nature Discovery (Tanzania)
    • Ocean Blue Adventures (South Africa)
    • Ol Pejeta Conservancy (Kenya)
    • Panthera Africa Big Cat Sanctuary (South Africa)
    • Planet Pilgrims (South Africa)
    • Rhino Walking Safaris (South Africa)
    • SAACI Annual Congress 2018 (South Africa)
    • Table Mountain Aerial Cableway Company (South Africa)
    • Township Art Tours (South Africa)
    • Two Oceans Aquarium (South Africa)
    • Ultimate Safaris (Namibia)
    • Wildlife ACT (South Africa)
    • WOWZULU Inanda (South Africa)
    • WOWZULU Isandlwana (South Africa)
    • WOWZULU Khula Village (South Africa)
    • Zara Tanzania Adventures (Tanzania) -

    Heidi van der Watt, founder of the African awards and director of Better Tourism Africa, explains: "The quality of entries which have made it through to the longlist this year confirms the power of responsible tourism as a force for good in Africa. Each one of these organisations is playing an important role in championing responsible tourism. We’ve reviewed the information from the entries and are excited about the possibilities."

    Judging and the awards' ceremony

    Submissions from these longlisted organisations will now be rigorously questioned by the independent judging team. The judging team is made up of industry experts.

    Chair of judges, Professor Harold Goodwin says: "The field for the 2019 African Responsible Tourism Awards is again an indication of the strength of responsible tourism in Africa! Entrants have already completed a detailed questionnaire. We’ll now take up references and make some inquiries. On judging day we'll identify those that demonstrate the difference that taking responsibility can make, and have the capacity to educate and inspire others to be more responsible."

    The public can also offer support or otherwise for longlisted organisations by emailing moc.sdrawamsiruotelbisnopsernacirfa@suotklat. Based on all the evidence, the judging team will debate the entries and select the shortlist and winners. The shortlist will be announced on 1 April 2019.

    The ceremony is part of the responsible tourism programme at WTM Africa, which takes place from 10 to 12 April 2019.

    Let's do Biz