Homenewsabout usContact UsWebsite

Bookmarks 2022 announces its jury panels

As awards season kicks into high gear, The Bookmark Awards announces its 2022 jury panels who will evaluate and award the best of the best at the awards ceremony to be held in July. Each of this year's eight panels will be headed up by a jury chair, selected for their experience and expertise in their respective fields.
Bookmarks 2022 announces its jury panels

This year’s eight categories consist of Marketing, Publishing, Performance Marketing, Social, Community and Influencer Marketing, Builders, Innovative Engineers, Youth Action, and Special Honours. With the aim to place users first, create and maintain a consistent approach to measurement, transform the industry from within, and provide trustworthy digital supply chains, the 2022 Bookmarks have embraced the key priorities of IAB South Africa.

Leading the charge of transformation

In keeping with IAB South Africa’s mandate to transform the industry from within, the Bookmarks panels are comprised of a diverse group of South Africans from within the digital and marketing industries. All of the panel members are nominated by their peers to ensure that the judging panel is not only indicative of and endorsed by the larger industry but that all work submitted for the awards is judged fairly by those with relevant expertise.

Marketing panel

Kabelo Moshapalo, chief creative officer, Ogilvy Johannesburg (Chair)
Jerusha Raath, head of Adspace Studio, Media24
Thami Majola, head of Brand, Vodacom
Jamaine Chiwaye, integrated brand strategist, MediaCom
Matthew van der Walk, executive creative director, VMLY&R
Ray Langa, managing director, Levergy
Nthabiseng Matshekga, executive head: Group Marketing, Nedbank
Bruno Bertrand, Digital Commerce & Marketing director, Esteé Lauder Companies
Jabulani Sigege, executive creative director, Machine_
Melissa Raath, senior art director, Ogilvy
Artwell Nwaila, head of Creative, Google

Publisher panel

Lebogang Boshomane, SowetanLIVE online editor, Arena Holdings (Chair)
JD Engelbrecht, managing director, Everlytic
Joanne Hope, co-founder & chief operating officer, 2Stories
Zainab Slemang van Rijmenant, managing partner, Chimera Creative
Jon Savage, director, in_Broadcasting
Nidha Narrandes, creative director, Reel Stories
Carla Bernardo, Communication and Engagement manager, DSI-NRF Centre of Excellence in Food Security
Anton Marsh, managing director, Now Media
Naeem Imam, founder, IMAMEDIA
Rikashni Rangasamy, senior manager: Digital, SuperSport

Performance Marketing panel

Audrey Naidoo, head of Digital Marketing, ABSA (Chair)
Sue Disler, head of Digital, Have You Heard
Nivasha Pillay, head of Digital & Systems Acceleration, MediaCom
Wayne Tigere, Strategic Performance lead, Dentsu
Jade Arenstein, Global Service lead: Analytics, Data and BI, Incubeta
Simone Frost, head of Digital Marketing, Telesure Investment Holdings
Lerato Modisakeng, head of Platforms and Performance Media, Wavemaker
Andreas Shifotoka, digital marketing specialist for Customer Experience and Product Communications, WesBank
Maude Korte, head of Commercialisation, Nedbank
Vuyisile Kubeka, digital strategist, Roast
Ashleigh Brooker, head of Digital, Philip Morris International

Social, Community & Influencer Marketing panel

Zahira Kharsany, head of Social and digital strategist, Gorilla Creative Media (Chair)
Mongezi Mtati, brand strategist, Rogerwilco
Lebo Moerane, social and digital lead, VMLY&R
Janine Jellars, author and social media strategist, The Big SA Hair Book
Nosipho Ginindza, managing director, SoulProviders Collective
Jonathan Lavender, creative director, Hellosquare
Theodora Lee, creative group head, King James Group / Accenture Interactive
Maxinne Mboweni, copywriter, Ogilvy
Clinton Myeni, senior graphic designer, Oliver Africa (U-Studio)
Muchaneta Madavo, social lead, Dentsu
MJ Khan, head of Group Digital Communications, Sasol

Builders panel

Jessica van der Westhuyzen, digital marketer, 10X Investments (Chair)
Genie Botha, head of Product Design, MakeReign
Charles Lee Matthews, publisher and CEO, Inc.Africa
Tracy Lindner, digital strategist, Creativly
Charne Munien, strategy director, VMLY&R
Emily Shaw, strategy partner, Machine_
Jason Stewart, co-founder and managing partner, Have You Heard
Lara Pietersen, experience consultant, Equal Experts
Mapule Bodibe, chief consumer officer, MTN

Innovative Engineers panel

Walter Madzonga, program manager Digital Strategy & Innovation, ShopriteX (Chair)
Vusi Khosa, head of UX and UI Design, Hellocomputer
Tilesh Bhaga, creative technologist, Grey Johannesburg
Greg Davies, chief design officer, PlusNarrative
Nazareen Ebrahim, CEO, Naz Consulting International
Tebogo Maleka, business director, Fuelcontent (Part of HelloFCB+)
Mandisa Bohlela, senior marketing manager: Digital, Nedbank
Johan Walters, lead consultant, Incubeta
Lindsay Johnson, Customer Experience: head of Awareness, Philip Morris International
Adrian Naidoo, managing partner Strategy & Consulting, Mindshare South Africa
Lesley-Anne van der Nest, deputy managing director, HelloFCB+

Youth Action panel

Luzuko Tena, social media director, MediaCom (Chair)
Lineo Msimka, digital trends analyst, Draftline
Lerato Dumisa, senior brand manager Sunlight, Unilever
Su Little, manager of Online Education, Red & Yellow School
Aasiyah Adams, founder, Abaguquli
Skhumbuzo Tuswa, Creative Group head, King James Group / Accenture Interactive
Lesego Ngcamu, executive head: Digital and Interactive Marketing, Standard Bank
Insaaf Khan, chief growth officer, VMLY&R
Lethu Zimu, creative group head, Think Creative Africa
Nazeema Mia, Media Ops director, Hello FCB+

Special Honours panel

Ryan McManus, chief creative officer, VMLY&R South Africa (Chair)
Niamh NicLiam, head of Business Partnerships, Incubeta
Darren Mansour, owner and managing director, So Interactive
Dineo Mofokeng, manager: Digital, Direct & Social Media Marketing, Standard Bank
Dan Berkowitz, group executive creative director, Have You Heard
Stephane Rogovsky, CEO, R-Squared Agency
Elizabeth Mokwena, marketing director, Unilever
Hayley Doron-Weil, executive creative partner, FCB Joburg
Danni Pinch, executive creative director, King James Group / Accenture Interactive
Ashleigh Burton, digital marketing director, NS Group

The 2022 Bookmark Awards will be led and guided by newly elected jury president Khensani Nobanda, Group executive for Marketing and Corporate Affairs at Nedbank Group, and a member of the Nedbank Group executive leadership. ‘Winning a Bookmark Award is a recognition of excellence but also a showcase of talent,” she says. “The IAB Bookmark Awards continue to play a critical role in encouraging and celebrating innovation excellence, catapulting the industry into thinking about the next best way to execute and deliver for maximum impact.”

Entries are open

Entries for the 14th annual Bookmark Awards are open until Monday, 9 May at midnight. Click here to enter.

For more information about the 2022 Bookmark Awards, visit The 2022 Bookmark Awards are proudly supported by DStv Media Sales as its naming rights partner.

5 Apr 2022 09:32