NewsAbout UsContact UsWebsiteBizcommunity

Roger Garlick Awards Finalists

The Advertising Media Association of South Africa (AMASA) announced the 2002 Roger Garlick Awards finalists at a function held at The Venue in Rivonia on Monday night.
In the New Media Innovation category both finalists hail from the Cape. They are:

  • Helena Durandt of Ogilvy Mather Searle-Tripp & Makin (Cape) for Old Mutual’s Greenlight Travelator campaign.
  • Quinton Jones of W1 for Woolworths.

    Helena Durandt won the 2000 Roger Garlick Award for media strategy with the Cape Talk ‘David Copperfield’ campaign.

    In the Media Strategy category, Johannesburg has come to the fore. The finalists are:

  • Wendy Carruthers of TBWA Hunt Lascaris for Standard Bank.
  • Karen Bailey and Marisa Torrani of Take Television for Damelin.

    Last year, Karen Bailey and Marisa Torrani won the Roger Garlick Award for media strategy under the banner of their other company, Cinevation for a Permanent Bank campaign.

    In the Youth category there are two finalists for the first time since the award was launched. These are:

  • Erica Gunning of Starcom for MTN ‘Ice’.
  • Ilan Lazarus of Media Co-ordination for the Robben Island campaign.

    The winners of the 2002 Roger Garlick Awards will be announced at the Loerie Awards ceremony at Sun City on Saturday 8 June 2002.

    Thanks to generous sponsorship from Action Stations, CineMARK and ADvantage, AMASA’s Roger Garlick Awards have rapidly become the most prestigious media awards in South Africa. Winners of the Innovation and Strategy awards will be attending the Cannes International Advertising Festival from 15 to 23 June 2002.
  • 8 Apr 2002 23:00


    News | About Us | Contact Us | Website | Bizcommunity