NewsAbout UsContact UsWebsiteBizcommunity

AMASA Johannesburg welcomes 2007/8 committee

The Advertising Media Association of South Africa (AMASA) welcomed and announced its Johannesburg 2007/2008 committee at the annual AGM held on Wednesday 4 April 2007, at the JSE in Sandown.
"After a very successful year, it was pleasing to see most committee members standing again and being re-elected," commented Chairman, Rob Smuts. "We welcome our new committee members and look forward to another productive and eventful year."

The members of Johannesburg's 2007/2008 AMASA Committee are:

Rob Smuts, Managing Director, RMS Media
Brad Aigner, Managing Director, Universal McCann
Jedd Cokayne, Media Director, Joe Public
Andrew Kramer, Managing Director, The Letter Corporation
Andrew Maluleka, Media Strategist, SABC Radio
Bonita Carr, Client Service, Home Channel
Lyn Jones, Marketing Services, Clear Channel
Melanie Walter, Media Director, Starcom
Tony Koenderman, Associate Editor, FinWeek
Kirsten Randall, Key Account Executive, Caxton Magazines
Karen van Wyk, Marketing Manager, ComuatNet
Mohlabane Ramela, Account Executive, the Inc.

Providing a platform to reflect on the past year, the AGM is considered one of the most significant dates on the AMASA calendar. Rob highlighted the association's achievements including the positive impact made in the field of media education, particularly at the AAA School of Advertising.

He reported that much needed funds were raised through the annual industry event and AMASA's inaugural Golf Day - monies raised to assist in furthering media education in South Africa.

Lucinda Dare, Media Director at FCB Johannesburg kindly agreed to address the audience on the recent Roger Garlick Award entries. In addition to participating in this years judging process, Lucinda was South Africa's representative on the 2006 Cannes Media Lions judging panel. She praised the standard of Roger Garlick entries, and commented that many would stand a favourable chance at Cannes if entered.

"I'd like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who contributed last year and a special thanks and farewell to longstanding committee member Gill Randall of the Newspaper Advertising Bureau (NAB), who has decided to step down after a commendable seven years service to AMASA," Rob Smuts concluded.

The initial meeting of the new committee will take place on the April 23 where portfolios will be assigned for the forthcoming year. The 2007/8 chairperson and vice-chairperson will be elected at this meeting.

16 Apr 2007 19:43


News | About Us | Contact Us | Website | Bizcommunity