Homenewsabout usListen LiveContact UsWebsite

Algoa FM's sport editor named Telkom Business Journalist of the Year

Algoa FM's sport editor, Neil Bisseker, won the 2013 Telkom Business Golf Journalist of the Year at the 21st annual Compleat Golfer Awards in Johannesburg recently.
Algoa FM's sport editor named Telkom Business Journalist of the Year
"This award is a fantastic recognition. I'm hugely honoured and am so pleased that the work I've done for the sport of golf for the best part of 25 years has been recognised in this way by a big national golf magazine. It's nice to know that the work we do down in the regions is not going unnoticed," says Bisseker.

Other awards on the evening went to Ernie Els for Compleat Golfer's Player of the Year, Turf specialist Pye Bredenkamp, who was recognised for his contribution to golf industry, and Branden Grace the Volvo Mover of the Year award.

In addition to the award, Bisseker received a cash prize of R10 000.

His professional broadcasting career has focused on sports journalism since he entered the industry in the early 1990's. He started as a journalist with Algoa FM in 1997.

He was made Algoa FM's sport editor in 2005. In September 2008, Neil and Daron Mann (host of the DMB Show on Algoa FM), started the Sport Elizabeth newspaper, which is distributed free of charge in the Port Elizabeth area.

"This award is testament to the quality of our news department at Algoa FM and the calibre and superiority of the product we present to our listeners," says Dave Tiltmann, Managing Director of Algoa FM.

19 Mar 2013 10:24