

Cinemark announces the finalists for the 2005 Young Creatives Award

Cinema-advertising contractor CineMARK, official South African representative of the Cannes International Advertising Festival and organisers of the local Young Creatives Competition, has announced the 2005 Young Creatives Award finalists. The winning creative team will be jetting off to Cannes in June to compete in the International Young Creatives Competition where they will attend a two-day workshop and experience the Cannes International Advertising Festival firsthand.

In 2005 the Young Creatives entrants were required to design an advertising campaign to promote CineMARK's wide range of advertising options to would-be / potential advertisers, displaying the unique advantages of reaching the target audience in the cinema environment and illustrating what a powerful tool it can be for clients wanting to communicate with the vast number of cinema-goers.

Judges were rather disappointed at the "lack of original thought" that came through in this year's competition, and the similarity in ideas across students and agencies was disappointed. Although there were few "wow" moments, the work that deserved to win really did stand out.

This year's panel was John Davenport, Creative Head - Net#work BBDO; Philip Ireland, Creative Head - Net#work BBDO; Angel Jones, Creative Director - Morris Jones & Company; Louise Marsland, Bizcommunity Editor; Alison Stansfield, Art Director - Saatchi & Saatchi; Sandy de Witt, Executive Creative Director - TBWA Hunt Lascaris and Catherine Thomson, Creative Director - FCB.

The 2005 Young Creatives Competition finalists are: Shane Durrant and Angie Batis - Net#work BBDO Este du Plessis and Darren Cronje - Net#work BBDO Matthew Barnes and Jonathan Santana - Net#work BBDO

The finalists in the Student Category, who stand a chance to win the CineMARK VIP movie cards entitling them to unlimited free movies for one year, are:

Jayde o Brien and Gerrit Breitenbach - AAA School of Advertising

Simon Williamson and Nicola Biagioni - Vega

Justine Isaacson and Cara Messias - Vega

The winners of the 2005 Young Creatives Awards will be announced on 21 April 2005.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com