

2020 Eco-Logic Awards finalists announced

The finalists in the 2020 Eco-Logic Awards hosted by the Enviropaedia across 12 categories have been announced. The virtual awards ceremony will take place on 21 September - World Peace Day. Initially set to take place 5 June, the event was delayed due to the Covid-19 pandemic.



The awards highlights the eco-logically beneficial products, services and people who are taking effective action to protect and preserve the environment. "We will not let Covid-19 prevent us from celebrating and promoting our Eco-Champions. It's now more important than ever to share good news, empower people and communities, and support green business," says David Parry-Davies, director of Enviropaedia and The Eco-Logic Awards.

The 2020 Eco-Logic Awards finalists are:

Climate Change Award

City of Cape Town - Smart Driver Programme
Project 90 by 2030
Western Cape Department of Agriculture - "Die Kwik Styg" Radio Programme

Innovation Award

Democratic Alliance - Plastic Road in Jeffrey's Bay University of Pretoria - Pushing back day Zero Wilderness Foundation Africa

Recycling and Waste Management Award

Imagined Earth - Reverse Vending Machine Kabega Primary Eco-life Virgin Active Constantia – Net Zero Waste

Eco-build Award

BOXA Loo

Democratic Alliance - Plastic Road in Jeffrey's Bay USE-IT - Hammarsdale Waste Beneficiation Centre

Water conservation Award

Amalooloo

The Coca-Cola Foundation, Peninsula Beverages – GCTWF
The South African Breweries (Pty) Ltd - City/SAB Water Partnership

Green Economy Award

Abalimi Bezekhaya - Harvest of Hope Khanyi Designs Wilderness Foundation Africa

Biodiversity Award

CTEET - Biodiversity Offsetting SANBI Biodiversity Crimes Enforcement Project WESSA Green Coast

Municipality Award

Cape Winelands District Municipality – Ward Based Risk Assessment
Garden Route District Municipality - Garden Route Environmental Forum (GREF)
Sedibeng District Municipality - Installation of smoke detectors

Eco-Community Award

Abalimi Bezekhaya CTEET - Sustainable Schools Scarborough Environmental Group

Eco-Youth Award

Matthew Furlonger - Warrior Youth Siya Ntsumpa - Giving Them Wings Foundation Sakhe Silwana - Silwana Industries

The Eco-Angel Award

Blake Dyason - Love our trails

Jonathan Leeming - One World

Fortunate Mafeta - Youth 4 African Wildlife

The Eco-Warrior Award

Desmond D'Sa – SDCEA Blake Dyason - Love our trails Phil McLean - SANBI Biodiversity Crimes Project

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com