

Afda alumni bag 48 nominations @ Saftas 2021

By <u>Earle Holmes</u>, issued by <u>AFDA</u>

Afda alumni have received a massive 48 nominations at the 15th South African Film and Television Awards.



In the feature film category, the film Toorbos, directed by Afda alumna Rene van Rooyen, picked up 9 nominations. Stam, directed and written by Afda Masters (MFA) student Louw Venter and produced by alumni Cait Pansegrouw and Elias Ribeiro of Urucu Media received 7 nominations, including the Best Feature Film award nomination. Griekwastad, directed by Jozua Malherbe bagged 4 nominations and is also nominated in the Best Feature Film category. Jenna Bass and Louw Venter received the Best Achievement in Directing a Feature Film nomination for the film Flatland and Stam. Lwazi Mvusi and Louw Venter picked up the Best Achievement in Scriptwriting a Feature Film category for the films Seriously Single and Stam. Jozua Malherbe and Rory O' Grady received the Best Achievement in Cinematography nominations for their work on the films Griekwastad and Riding with Sugar respectfully. Ebenhaezar Smal received the Best Sound Design nomination for Griekwastad and Waldemar Coetzee picked up the Best

Production Design nomination for his work on Toorbos.

In the TV Drama category, Afda alumni make a clean sweep in 3 different categories:

The Best Achievement in Directing -TV Drama for the series went to, Blood and Water, directed by Nosipho Dumisa, Travis Taute and Daryne Joshua, Lockdown Season 5, directed by Mandla Ngcogwane and Tydelik Terminal, directed by Etienne Fourie.

The Best Achievement in Cinematography-TV Drama category, alumni Zenn van Zyl is nominated for Blood and Water, Jonathan de la Querra for Inconceivable and James Adey for Still Breathing.

The Best TV Drama category Afda alumni production houses snatch 3 nominations for Blood and Water - Gambit Films, Inconceivable - Rous House Production and Lockdown 5 - Black Brain Pictures.

The Safta's will take place on 22 May and aim to honour, celebrate and promote the creativity, quality and excellence of South African film and television talent and productions, and serve to encourage entrepreneurship and the development of new talent within the industry.

Here is the full list of Afda alumni nominations:

Best Achievement in Scriptwriting - Telenovela, Matthew Jankes - Imbewu Season 3

Best Achievement in Scriptwriting - TV Soap, Stephan Simm and Themba Mahlangu - Scandel

Best Achievement in Cinematography - Telenovela, Ntobeko Dlamini - The River

Best Achievement in Directing - TV Drama, Travis Taute, Nosipho Dumisa and Daryne Joshua - Blood and Water. Mandla N - Lockdown 5. Etienne Fourie - Tydelik Terminal

Best Achievement in Scriptwriting - TV Drama, Travis Taute, Nosipho Dumisa and Daryne Joshua - Blood and Water.

Merren Reddy and Joshua Rous - Inconceivable

Best Achievement in Editing - TV Drama, Melissa Parry - Queen Sono Season 1. Melanie Jankes Golden, Markus van Schalkwyk and Richard Starkey - Trackers

Best Achievement in Cinematography - TV Drama, Zenn van Zyl - Blood and Water. Jonathan de la Querra - Inconceivable. James Adey, Still Breathing

Best TV Drama, Gambit Films - Blood and Water. Rouse House Production - Inconceivable. Black Brain Pictures - Lockdown Season 5.

Best Achievement in Scriptwriting - TV Comedy, Lwazi Mvusi, Joshua Rous and Meren Reddy - Black Tax. Lwazi Mvusi - How to Ruin Christmas: The Wedding

Best Achievement in Editing - TV Comedy, Melanie Jankes - How to Ruin Christmas: The Wedding

Best Achievement in Art Direction - TV Comedy, Martha Sibanyoni - How to Ruin Christmas: The Wedding

Best Actor - TV Comedy, Keenan Arrison - The Riviera

Best Supporting Actor - TV Comedy, Motlatsi Mafatshe - How to Ruin Christmas: The Wedding

Best TV Comedy, Rous House Production - Black Tax

Best Current Affairs Programme, Tia Productions - Snitches get Stitches Parktown boys

Best Variety Show, Republiek van Zoid Afrika

Youth Programme, TIA Productions - MTV Shuga Naija: Young Moms

Best Made for TV Movie, Marche Media - A Christmas Chorus. Black Brain Pictures - Loving Thokoza

Best Achievement in Directing - Feature Film, Jenna Bass - Flatland and Louw Venter - Stam

Best Achievement in Scriptwriting - Feature Film, Lwazi Mvusi - Seriously Single and Louw Venter - Stam

Best Achievement in Cinematography - Feature Film, Jozua Malherbe - Griekwastad. Rory O' Grady - Riding with Sugar

Best Achievement in Sound Design - Feature Film, Ebenhaezer Smal - Griekwastad

Best Achievement in Production Design - Feature Film, Weldemar Coetzee - Toorbos

Best Supporting Actor - Feature Film, Justin Strydom - Dust

Best Feature Film, Griekwastad and Stam

- * Afda graduation film Anguish shortlisted for Sony Future Filmmaker Awards 2024 29 Apr 2024
- * Afda alumni in key roles on film which inspired Beyoncé's new album Cowboy Carter 5 Apr 2024
- "Teaching students to ethically co-create with Al in arts education 23 Feb 2024
- "11 Afda films selected to screen at Joburg Film Festival 20 Feb 2024
- * Afda students and alumni top Loeries Official Rankings 2023 12 Feb 2024

AFDA



AFDA is a Private Higher Education Institution owned by Stadio Holdings, which offers Higher Certificate and Degree programmes that are registered by the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET) and the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA).

Profile | News | Contact | Twitter | Facebook | RSS Feed

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com