

Winners of Chris Campbell Memorial Rally

The fourth round of the Firestone Legendary Drives regularity rally championship, the Chris Campbell Memorial Rally in KwaZulu-Natal, was won by Llewellyn Barnard and Joe Smith in an Alfa Romeo 146 ti with a total of just 16 seconds over the 17 control points. The event was run under the auspices of the South African Regularity Rally Association (SARRA).

Barnard and Smith were delighted with their second win of the season - they also took the honours in the Fiat Rally in Gauteng in March - and a narrow four second victory over Angus Findlay and Gerrit Loubser in their Alfa Romeo Berlina. Third were defending champions Schalk and wife Susan van Niekerk in a SsangYong Lexo with 21 seconds penalties. Chris Andrew and Mike Altona in a BMW 635 were fourth with 23 seconds penalties and fifth was the BMW 325i of David Gilson and Gary Berndt, winners of the previous round, with a score of 40.

Making up the top ten were Richard Grover/Wally Langsford (Ford Escort Twin Cam) with 43 points, Bill Dreyer/Stewart MacGregor (Triumph TR7) with 48 points, Luisa Gomes/Manny Da Rocha (BMW 328i) with 72 points, Stephen Grover/Oliver Keys (MGB Roadster) with 137 points and Frank Mawer/Glen Pyle (Alfa Romeo GT Junior) with 193 points.

The next round of the Firestone Legendary Drives is the Lotus Rally in Gauteng on 26 August. It will also be the fourth round of the Total Blind Navigators Rally Championship.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com