

MTN Women in ICT - Partnership for Change Awards announces shortlists

The MTN Women in ICT - Partnership for Change Awards is a platform that recognises, honours and celebrates the contribution made by women professionals to the growth and development of the information and communications technology (ICT) sector in South Africa.



Source: Sean Priorl © https://www.123rf.com/

After days of reviewing hundreds of nominations for this year's MTN Women in ICT – Partnership for Change Awards. The adjudication panel has shortlisted the top three entries that will be competing in their respective categories for the top accolades.

The top three nominees in each category are as follows:

Leadership Recognition Award: recognises senior female executives in the ICT sector whose proven depth of experience in leading change, influencing business outcomes and leading teams has impacted positively on the organisations they lead.

The candidates are:

- Christi Maherry
- Pamela Mkhize
- Mariana Kruger

Innovator Recognition Award: recognises women who have introduced new methods, ideas, or products that are contributing in one way or the other to the delivery of a bold, new, digital world.

The candidates are:

- Marlize Holtz
- Mariana Kruger
- Hlengiwe Mazibuko

SME Recognition Award: recognises wholly-owned, women-run enterprises that are viable businesses making inroads in the ICT sector. This is also extended to MTN employees who run their own enterprises on the side, using ICT to enable their businesses.

The candidates are:

- Shesni Doorsamy
- Nisha Maharaj
- Iman Malaka

Community Builder Recognition Award: recognises a woman who has made a considerable difference in her community through ICT, or use of an ICT tool to make a difference in the community.

The candidates are:

- Zandile Keebine
- Lee-Anne Wyman
- · Lindiwe Matlali

Lifetime Achiever Recognition Award (Women Pioneer): recognises a woman who has longstanding success in the ICT industry, has demonstrated a remarkable entrepreneurial spirit, and has continually stayed ahead of the curve.

The candidates are:

- Santie Botha
- · Laren Braithwaite-Kabosa
- Joan Joffe

Excellence in ICT Journalism Award: this category seeks to recognise a journalist who has contributed immensely to creating a better understanding of the ICT industry through her reporting.

The candidates are:

- Yolandi Booyens
- Lauren Kate Rawlins
- Michelle Constant

Graduate Award (Tertiary): this category recognises a top ICT graduate from a tertiary institution who finished top of her class.

The candidates are:

- Elizabeth Bekker
- Tebatso Moape
- · Retselisitsoe Lejaha

CEO's Award: this award recognises an MTN employee who has made a difference within the organisation with the use of

ICT and Technology.
The candidates are:

- Mapula Bodibe
- Mariana Kruger
- Nomaciko Ngoasheng

In addition to the categories listed above, a significant woman, whose contribution has helped to facilitate access to telecommunication services, will be announced by the minister of communications, Nomvula Mokonyane.

Winners will be announced on 30 August 2018.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com