

# 2013 kykNET Fiëstas honours best in Afrikaans theatre

The kykNET Fiëstas was a visual and auditory festival for the senses, featuring a sterling production from theatre great, Ian von Memerty, and technical production genius from award winning director, Jaco Bouwer, paying fitting homage to its iconic venue of the SA State Theatre in Pretoria. The awards production also featured top notch performances by Laurika Rauch, Elvis Blue, Emo Adams and emerging star soprano, Friedel Mitas as well as the Mzansi Youth Choir, the Tshwane Dance Company and a 12-piece live band.

































The Fiëstas presented awards in fifteen categories, as well as three Lifetime Achievement Awards to legends of the industry - PG du Plessis (Word Art), Athol Fugard (Theatre) and May Abrahamse (Music) - for their continued commitment to the development of Afrikaans theatre.

The kykNET Fiëstas also gave the public the opportunity to choose their favourites and, following some feverish SMS-voting, the Most Popular Fiesta Presenter was awarded to André van der Merwe and Most Popular Festival to the Klein Karoo Nasionale Kunstefees (KKNK).

"We believe the kykNET Fiëstas has become an awards institution and, importantly, a vital platform to showcase the best in Afrikaans theatre and arts. Once again we are incredibly happy with the ceremony and would like to extend our congratulations to all the worthy winners and nominees," comments Karen Meiring, head of kykNET.

The list of kykNET Fiëstas winners is:

#### 1. Best Actor

Wessel Pretorius - Ont

#### 2. Best Actress

Sandra Prinsloo - Oskar en die pienk tannie

### 3. Best Supporting Actor

Stian Bam - Bos / Babbel / Vrou vantevore

## 4. Best Supporting Actress

Karli Heine - Op dees Aarde

#### 5. Best Director

Lara Bye - Oskar en die pienk tannie

### 6. Best Theatre Design

Marthinus Basson - Op dees Aarde

#### 7. Best Achievement in a Music-driven Production

Janine Neethling (Music director and processing) - Wierook en Mirre

#### 8. Best Achievement in Solo Performance

Wessel Pretorius - Ont

### 9. Best Newly Created Afrikaans Performance

Wessel Pretorius - Ont

### 10. Best Upcoming Artist

Wessel Pretorius - Ont

#### 11. Best Achievement in Classical Music

Janine Neethling, Bridget Rennie-Salonen, Elizabeth Rennie-Furtner - Trio met 'n Twist

### 12. Best Achievement in Dance and Physical Theatre

Nicola Elliott & Underground Dance Theatre (production) - Keepsake Minus 3

#### 13. Best Achievement in Visual Art

Katie Barnard du Toit - Vrees en Verlies

#### 14. Best Music Production

'n Plekkie in die son

#### 15. Best Presentation

Oskar en die pienk tannie

The awards show will be broadcasted on kykNET (DSTV channel 144) on 4 April at 20:00.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com