## 🗱 BIZCOMMUNITY

## Winners of the 2020 AWIEF Awards announced

The 6th edition of Africa Women Innovation and Entrepreneurship Forum (AWIEF) conference and awards held on 2-3 December 2020 hosted more than 60 African and global thought leaders across business and politics who shared insight and thought leadership.



The flagship event was attended by the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) Secretariat, City of Atlanta, GA, U.S. Embassy in South Africa, Embassy of Switzerland in South Africa, UNDP, UNIDO, IFAD, ITC, The World Bank, Nedbank, Afreximbank, AGRA, USAID, Deutsche Post DHL, APO Group, Visa, SAP, The Economist, KPMG, Dalberg, African Development Bank (AfDB), MEDA, African government representatives, Mohammed VI Polythenic University (Morocco), Thunderbird School of Global Management (USA), and many more.

The conference theme this year was, Reimagining business and rebuilding better. The two-day event aimed to explore postpandemic recovery for the African markets, and to address women's economic empowerment; share entrepreneurship trends; connect and network with trailblazers from all over Africa and beyond.

AWIEF2020 prestigious keynote speakers included the Mayor of City of Atlanta, Keisha Lance Bottoms, US Ambassador to South Africa, Lana Marks, and the Secretary General of the AfCFTA Secretariat, Wamkele Mene.

"Africa holds a very special place in the heart of Atlanta," said Mayor Bottoms. "The global health crisis has put a lens of uncertainty on our world, we are treading uncharted territory across the globe. The definition of balance in our lives has been stretched for everyone, especially for women who lead our communities. Programs like WEI and AWIEF serve to level the playing field while bringing more women leaders to the table and helping to foster diverse business communities."

## Winners of the 2020 AWIEF Awards

The AWIEF Awards, honoured and celebrated the achievements of women entrepreneurs and innovators across the African continent. Eight women founders and entrepreneurs emerged winners across eight different categories, out of the twenty-four selected as finalists from across the continent, including Botswana, Cameroun, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, South Africa, and Tanzania.



Energy Entrepreneur Award Amma Boateng Managing Director, Destra Energy Group Social Entrepreneur Awar Rita Stryker Founder & CEO

Empowerment Award Porcho Sogoba Founder MUSODEV

Lifetime Achievement Award Daisy Molefhi Founder & Vice Chancellor, ABM University College

click to enlarge

Young Entrepreneur Award: Hannah Lavery, founder of Hannah Lavery (South Africa) Agri Entrepreneur Award: Victoria Mwafulirwa, managing director of Homes Industries (Malawi)

Tech Entrepreneur Award: Marlize Holtzhausen, founder and CEO of Response24 (South Africa)

Creative Industry Award: Ayanfeoluwa Olarinde of Lulu Arts and UnEarthical (Nigeria)

Empowerment Award: Porcho Marguerite Sogoba, CEO of MUSODEV (Mali)

Energy Entrepreneur Award: Amma Serwah Boateng, co-founder of Destra Energy Group (Ghana)

Social Entrepreneur Award: Rita Stryker, CEO of Willette Safehouse (Liberia)

Lifetime Achievement Award: Daisy Mmabatho Molefhi, founder and Vice Chancellor of ABM University College (Botswana)

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com