

Telkom Highway Africa New Media Awards 2010 winners

The winners of the Telkom Highway Africa New Media Awards 2010 were announced last night, Sunday, 4 July 2010, at the Highway Africa Conference opening dinner, held at Rhodes University in Grahamstown, South Africa.



Not-for-Profit category

Winner: African Woman and Child Feature Service - www.awcfs.org

AWCFS builds capacity to report on gender issues and addresses the needs of a marginalised community.

Runner-up: Kalahari People's Network - www.kalaharipeoples.net

Individual or Student category

Winner: Simon Dingle - www.zatechshow.co.za

The ZA Tech Show is a weekly technology podcast, hosted is by Simon Dingle and regular panelists.

Runner-up: Remmy Nweke - www.itrealms.blogspot.com

Corporate category

Winner: Zoopy.com - www.zoopy.com

Zoopy is an online and mobile social media community, where users upload, share and interact with videos, photos and audio.

Runner-up: Dispatch Online Blogs - http://blogs.dispatch.co.za/

The 14th Highway Africa Conference kicks off today, Monday, 5 July 2010 with MTN celebrating its sponsorship of the event for the ninth consecutive year. Highway Africa is the largest annual gathering of African journalists and media practitioners on the continent.

For more information, go to http://highwayafrica.com.