

SA wins International School Moot Court Competition

South Africa's team of eight students have won the 5th International School Moot Court Competition, which concluded in Gdynia in Poland on Friday, 31 January 2020.



Image source: ECDOE - Eastern Cape Department Of Education on Facebook

South African learners Sureshka Naidoo and Caitlin Schwarer from Eden College, Nondumiso Ntshangase and Nosipho Dube from Mathubesizwe High School in KZN, as well as Mihlali Precious Stotile and Ondele Bede from Holy Cross; Okhela Sigwela and Lizalise Dlomo from Hudson Park High School, from the Eastern Cape, competed with six other countries that included Bulgaria, Romania, Mongolia, St Maarten, USA and Venezuela.

South Africa competed in the finals and beat team USA from New York City, who were the defence.

The Department of Basic Education (DBE) in partnership with the Department of Justice and Constitutional Development (DoJ&CD) and the SAHRC held the ninth National Schools Moot Court Competition for secondary and high schools Grade 10 and 11 learners from 25-29 September 2019. All secondary and high schools were invited to enter a team of two learners, who prepared essays on a fictional Constitutional Court case, as both applicants and respondents to the case.

The Moot Fact for the 5th International School Moot Court was on: Scene of Conflict over the past decade in Tabanath.





South Africa has participated in the previous last three editions of the competition, which were held in The Hague. During the 2014, 2016 and 2018 chapters of the International Moot Court Competition, South Africa obtained second, first and best presenter award after a strong-willed fight against other countries.

The South African delegation consisted of 15 representatives, made up of 8 learners and 7 officials. The technical team members are drawn from the Department of Basic Education, South African Human Rights Commission, Centre for Human Rights at University of Pretoria and Baker McKenzie Law Firm. The two Provincial Coordinators are from the two provinces, KwaZulu-Natal and Eastern Cape.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com