Advertise on Bizcommunity

Subscribe to industry newsletters

UN journalism award open for entry

NAIROBI, Kenya - Entries for the United Nations Correspondents Association (UNCA) Awards are now open for best journalistic coverage of the United Nations and UN agencies.
The United Nations Correspondents Association (UNCA) invites media worldwide to submit entries for its 23nd annual UNCA Awards for the best print, broadcast (TV and radio) and online, web-based media coverage of the United Nations, UN agencies and field operations. 

This year also marks UNCA's 70th anniversary celebrating seven decades of journalism committed to reporting on the UN and its many causes and objectives. 

The deadline for submissions is September 15, 2018 and the awards are open to all journalists anywhere in the world. Work in print, broadcast (TV and radio) and online coverage, must have been published between September 2017 and August 2018. 

Do not criminalise media workers - UN

UN experts condemn decision to seek death sentence against Egyptian photojournalist Abou Zeid...

15 Mar 2018

Coverage of the UN and UN agencies is specified in each category, and the committee welcomes coverage of all issues particularly on the Sustainable Development Goals for 2030, peacekeeping operations and nonproliferation, including the elimination of nuclear, chemical and biological weapons. 


The judges will look for entries with impact, insight and originality, and will consider the courage and investigative and reporting skills of the journalists. Entries from the developing world media are particularly welcome. 

Entries can be submitted in any of the official UN languages (English, French, Arabic, Chinese, Spanish, and Russian), however a written transcript in English or French is necessary to facilitate the judging process.

Each candidate can submit to no more than two prize categories, with a maximum of three stories in each. Joint entries are accepted. Electronic files and web links uploaded to the online Entry Form are required.

The various awards are:
  1. The Elizabeth Neuffer Memorial Prize, sponsored by the Alexander Bodini Foundation, for written media (including online media). The prize is for print and online coverage of the UN and UN agencies, named in honour of Elizabeth Neuffer, The Boston Globe bureau chief at the UN, who died while on an assignment in Baghdad in 2003.
  2. The Ricardo Ortega Memorial Prize for broadcast (TV and radio) media. The prize is for broadcast coverage of the UN and UN agencies, named in honour of Ricardo Ortega, formerly the New York correspondent for Antena 3 TV of Spain, who died while on an assignment in Haiti in 2004.
  3. The Prince Albert II of Monaco and UNCA Global Prize for Climate Change. The prize is for print (including online media) and broadcast media (TV and radio) for coverage of climate change, biodiversity, and water.

The UNCA awards committee is: Sherwin Bryce-Pease, UNCA President; Giampaolo Pioli, awards chairman; Valeria Robecco, UNCA vice president; Carole Landry, UNCA treasurer; Seana Magee, UNCA secretary; Oscar Bolanos, UNCA executive member; Widad Franco, UNCA executive member; Tuyet Nguyen, awards selections coordinator.

*Distributed by African Media Agency (AMA) on behalf of UNCA.
Get a daily news update via WhatsApp or sign up to our newsletters.